Research Area: Biomolecular Folding & Interactions

At home inside the cell, proteins and nucleic acids never exist in isolation. Complexes between biomolecules are essential for a variety of cellular functions. In some cases, complexes are formed transiently as in the case of chaperones that help proteins fold or proteins that target biomolecules for degredation. In other cases, these complexes are exquisitely specific and form tight interactions that can last for days. IPiB faculty approach the problems of how biomolecules fold and interact with one another using a variety of approaches including genetics, structural biology, biophysics, and chemical probing.

Image of David Brow David Brow
Professor
(608) 262-1475 · dabrow@wisc.edu
Image of Samuel E. Butcher Samuel E. Butcher
Professor
(608) 263-3890 · sebutcher@wisc.edu
Image of Baron Chanda Baron Chanda
Associate Professor
608-265-3936 · chanda@wisc.edu
Image of Michael M. Cox Michael M. Cox
Evelyn M. Mercer Professor in Biochemistry
(608) 262-1181 · cox@biochem.wisc.edu
Image of Elizabeth A. Craig Elizabeth A. Craig
Elizabeth Cavert Miller Professor
Steenbock Professor of Microbial Science
(608) 263-7105 · ecraig@wisc.edu
Image of Feyza Engin Feyza Engin
Assistant Professor
(608) 262-8667 · fengin@wisc.edu
Image of Catherine Fox Catherine Fox
Professor
(608) 262-9370 · cfox@wisc.edu
Image of Melissa Harrison Melissa Harrison
Assistant Professor
(608) 262-2382 · mharrison3@wisc.edu
Image of Aaron Hoskins Aaron Hoskins
Assistant Professor
(608) 890-3101 · ahoskins@wisc.edu
Image of Christina Hull Christina Hull
Associate Professor
(608) 265-5441 · cmhull@wisc.edu
Image of James Keck James Keck
Professor
(608) 263-1815 · jlkeck@wisc.edu
Image of Patricia Kiley Patricia Kiley
Professor
Chair Department of Biomolecular Chemistry
(608) 262-6632 · pjkiley@wisc.edu
Image of Robert Landick Robert Landick
Professor
(608) 265-8475 · landick@biochem.wisc.edu
Image of Peter Lewis Peter Lewis
Assistant Professor of Biomolecular Chemistry, Epigenetics
(608) 316-4388 · plewis@discovery.wisc.edu
Image of John L. Markley John L. Markley
Steenbock Professor of Biomolecular Structure (also Director of NMRFAM and BMRB)
(608) 263-9349 · markley@nmrfam.wisc.edu
Image of Matthew Merrins Matthew Merrins
Assistant Professor (also Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism, Department of Medicine)
608-256-1901 x12848 · merrins@wisc.edu
Image of Julie Mitchell Julie Mitchell
Professor of Biochemistry and Mathematics
(608) 432-5853 · mitchell@biochem.wisc.edu
Image of David J. Pagliarini David J. Pagliarini
Associate Professor, (also with the Morgridge Institute for Research)
(608) 890-3254 · pagliarini@wisc.edu
Image of Ann C. Palmenberg Ann C. Palmenberg
Professor (also Institute for Molecular Virology)
(608) 262-7519 · acpalmen@wisc.edu
Image of Ronald T. Raines Ronald T. Raines
Henry Lardy Professor of Biochemistry (also Department of Chemistry)
(608) 262-8588 · rtraines@wisc.edu
Image of Srivatsan Raman Srivatsan Raman
Assistant Professor
608-890-1036 · sraman4@wisc.edu
Image of Ivan Rayment Ivan Rayment
Michael G. Rossmann Professor of Biochemistry
(608) 262-0437 · ivan_rayment@biochem.wisc.edu
Image of M. Thomas Record, Jr. M. Thomas Record, Jr.
Steenbock Professor in Chemical Sciences
(608) 262-5332 · mtrecord@wisc.edu
Image of Philip Romero Philip Romero
Assistant Professor
608-262-5943 · promero2@wisc.edu
Image of Alessandro Senes Alessandro Senes
Associate Professor
(608) 890-2584 · senes@wisc.edu
Image of Michael Sheets Michael Sheets
Professor
(608) 262-9452 · mdsheets@wisc.edu
Image of Marvin P. Wickens Marvin P. Wickens
Max Perutz Professor of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
(608) 262-8007 · wickens@biochem.wisc.edu