Two IPiB Faculty Named 2016 AAAS Fellows

Two Integrated Program in Biochemistry (IPiB) faculty members, have been elected 2016 Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). They are two of five faculty from the University of Wisconsin–Madison named a Fellow this year.

David Brow of the Department of Biomolecular Chemistry (BMC) has made contributions to the field of RNA biology, particularly in determining the structure and function of macromolecular machines responsible for eukaryotic gene expression. Ann Palmenberg of the Department of Biochemistry was honored for her groundbreaking research in the field of positive-strand RNA molecular virology and for outstanding leadership in the American Society for Virology. BMC and Biochemistry are the two departments that make up IPiB.

Election as a AAAS Fellow, a tradition begun in 1874, is recognition by peers for distinguished contributions to advance science or its applications. Founded in 1848, AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society. It includes nearly 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving nearly 10 million constituents.

To read more about the awards, see the link below.